2016 General Conference

2016 UMC General Conference

Oregon Convention Center

May 10-20, 2016


Watch the live video stream from General Conference 2016 here

General Conference is the top policy-making body of
The United Methodist Church which meets once every four years.

The conference can revise church law, as well as adopt resolutions on current moral, social, public policy and economic issues. It also approves plans and budgets for church-wide programs.


The 2016 General and Jurisdictional Conference delegation, including alternates, from the Iowa Annual Conference.

Clergy delegates: Lilian Gallo Seagren, Katie Dawson, Brian Milford, Barrie Tritle, Diane Wasson Eberhart, and Thomas Shinkle.  Lay Delegates: Phil Carver, Norma Morrison, Becky Hereen, John Rothlisberger, Darcy Rubenking, and Craig Scott. 
The six clergy and six laity delegates who will attend the General Conference will be part of the delegation to the Jurisdictional Conference as well as six additional clergy and laity.  The six additional clergy: Sean McRoberts, Mike Morgan, Lanette Plambeck, Tom Carver, Nate Nims, and Brian Oliver.  The six additional laity: Margaret Borgen, Lindsay Drake, Kae Tritle, Marcia Young, Richard Hofmeyer, and Lisa Larson. In addition to the twelve elected clergy and twelve elected lay delegates six clergy and six laity six more clergy and six more laity were chosen as alternate members of the delegation.  The six clergy: Heecheon Jeon, Scott Kisker, Beverlee Bell, Steve McElroy, Deborah Wise, and John Louk.  The six laity: Beverly Spencer, Dorothy Highdon, Lauren Wise Loonsfoot, Ryan Russell, Nitza Dovenspike, and Noreen Kahler-Miller.

Read the Delegate Profiles

2016 General Conference Delegation blog

Click here to read the 2016 General Conference Delegation Blog—a place to practice radical hospitality and abundant grace as we prepare for the General and Jurisdictional Conferences of the United Methodist Church.